Are You Running Free … !?

I know that we all may not get to do things that set our souls afire, but we all can decide to do things that enable us to run free …

Or are you running scared, how you running!?

I like the idea that everything comes full circle. To me, it says that no part of (your) Life is wasted – if you won’t allow it to be.

One of the ways I have seen this play out more practically for me has been finding myself back at a place that I had, unintentionally, been at before. For example, one time back in College, I got lost whilst trying to make my way back home on foot. I was in an area that was very unfamiliar to me and ended up taking a right instead of a left. I ‘discovered’ an area that I’d never been to before, which I never really returned to till years later when I was employed. Fast forward a couple more years, I was there again for a friends engagement party. So, I was where I was supposed to be but not there when I was supposed to be. If you catch my dribble.

“”We either running free or running scared. How you running!?” These are words by the great comedian Paul Mooney. They stuck with since the first time I heard them. I have found a depth in them that made me confront how I myself was moving. Because though movement is good, but not all movement is the same. The reason we do things is important, because it helps to link things, accordingly, throughout our brief existence on this here third ‘ball‘ from the Sun. Fear is a valid reason, contextually, to do things/something, but I’d argue that it is far from being the best reason to do things.

I now look back on paths I did not take because of fearing that I was getting lost and realise that was not the cause. Those were off ramps that were (could’ve been) part of my journey, whether they panned out or not. I also do realise that not taking them can and has still allowed me to gain a lot of experience and knowledge that isn’t useless nor wasted. So still, no part of life is wasted. However, you get to do a lot more, and hopefully be a lot more fruitful, if you Run-Free and not run-scared.

I know that we all may not get to do things that set our souls afire, but we can decide to at the very least, do things that enable us to run free …

Author: Loyiso Gqola

"Writing is what I do, as for how it's defined by you, well that's for you. Simple lesson that took too long to learn. I write that's what I do! See this is not about what Steve said, but what I say in my own way. Be it for you, the public or for my private consumption. I write that's what I do! I can string words that are a bunch of nonsense written from a drug-less high and found in the depth of my conscious, like sleeping on a banana peel only so that my nightmares can slip right past me. Words so idiotic that they ought to be ghastly. Ending up having conversations with my favourite dessert and telling it "how you disgust me". I write, that's what I do!" - That sums me up for now. :)

Leave a comment